The Luckhurst-Samulski Prize 
Contact Us Careers Members of the Group
The Luckhurst-Samulski Prize   
Journal Listings
Search & Browse Journals
Author Resources
Author Services
Copyright & Author Rights
Instructions for Authors
Journals Resources
Customer Services
Developing World Initiatives
Email Contents Alerting
Online Information
Press Releases
Price Lists
Publish with Us
Special Issues
Special Offers
Subscription Information
Related Websites
Society Publishing
Routledge Books
Taylor & Francis Books
Garland Science

The Luckhurst-Samulski Prize

Professor Luckhurst was educated at the Universities of Hull and Cambridge, obtaining his PhD from the latter on solution effects in EST spectroscopy. He then became the ESR spectroscopist at the Varian Research Laboratories in Zürich before, in 1967, joining the faculty of the University of Southampton, where he currently holds the title of Emeritus Professor. His many honours and distinctions include being a former President and Honoured Member of the International Liquid Crystal Society, and recipient of the Gray Medal of the British Liquid Crystal Society and the Fredericksz Medal and Diploma of the Russian Liquid Crystal Society.

- 2 -

Professor Samulski obtained his PhD from Princeton University and subsequently held postdoctoral fellowships at the Universities of Groningen and Texas. In 1972 he was appointed to the faculty at the University of Connecticut and in 1987 moved to the University of North Carolina. His numerous distinctions include most recently becoming a State Department Jefferson Science Fellow.

- 3 -

In 1986, Professors Luckhurst and Samulski together with Taylor and Francis launched Liquid Crystals.

In their Editorial in the very first issue they commented that the study of liquid crystals 'is a burgeoning field of interdisciplinary endeavour and now is an exciting time to be involved in liquid crystal research'. Some 20 years later, in an editorial marking two decades of the journal, they reflected that 'these words seem as true today as when they were written 20 years ago'. This vibrancy has helped to underpin the continuing success of Liquid Crystals, which has remained faithful to the vision of its founding editors to serve the needs of the liquid crystal community to share its ideas. The Editor and Publishers view this Prize as providing a further stimulus to this activity.

- 4 -

The Luckhurst-Samulski Prize was launched in 2009 and awarded for the first time in 2010.

The Prize of £1000 is for the best paper published each year in Liquid Crystals and the full terms and conditions of the Prize can be found here. The Prize is intended to be a real stimulus to the liquid crystal community and is presented alternately at either the ILCC or the ECLC, depending on the year.

The Prize is named in honour of Professors Geoffrey Luckhurst and Ed Samulski, not only in recognition of their roles in founding the Journal but also for their outstanding contributions to liquid crystal science.

- 1 -

Winner announced

Congratulations to the authors of the paper,

"Uniaxial to biaxial nematic phase transition in a bent-core thermotropic liquid crystal by polarising microscopy" (39/1, 2012, pp. 19-23).

L to R: Professor Ed Samulski, Professor Geoffrey Luckhurst, Professor Oriano Francescangeli, Professor Stephen Picken and Professor Corrie Imrie.

It was particularly apt this year that Professor Ed Samulksi, one of the researchers the prize is named after, was one of the award recipients.

- 7 -

Relevant links

Read the free editorials:
2011 Luckhurst-Samulski Prize
2010 Luckhurst-Samulski Prize
2009 Luckhurst-Samulski Prize
Download the full terms and conditions of the Prize.

- 5 -

Previous Winners

Miha Škarabot et al.
"Atomic force microscope based method of measuring short cholesteric pitch in liquid crystals" (36/6&7, 2009, pages 567-605).

Antal Jakli
"Electro-mechanical effects in liquid crystals" (38/8, 2011, pages 1017-1020).

John W. Goodby et al.
"Molecular complexity and the control of self-organising processes" (36/6&7, 2009, pages 567-605).

- 6 -

top top
Copyright © 2018 Taylor & Francis Group, an informa business   Privacy Policy   Terms and Conditions